josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Like a Roaring Lion.

31 Comments


flowers caressing blazing red cross

 

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. 1 Peter 5:8 New King James Version

Lions stalk unseen in tall grass. They charge quickly and roar to paralyze their prey. They take their prey with no mercy, many times eating it alive.

So too does the devil and his minions prey upon Christians. Just when you think it is safe is when they attack.

 

That is why we need the Holy Spirit to be our guide in life. He is like the birds in the trees that sound the alarm when they see the lions approaching. When you have a gut feeling not to go somewhere or do something you had better pay attention. That is the Holy Spirit chirping to you of appending doom.

I can think of when a tempting contract was offered to me and a strong feeling said to not walk but run away from it. It was hard but I obeyed and found out later is was a very bad contract that would have caused me a lot of grief.

It is also why we need good Christian mentors in our lives, because many times they have fallen pray to some of the devils schemes he may be preparing for us.

Prayer: Please Jehovah KaEl (voice of God) bless me to always be attentive to Your protective voice so I do not fall easy victim to one of the tricksters schemes. I humbly request this in the name of He who always exposed the wicked one Jesus Christ. Amen.

May the sunshine of Jesus sweet love bless you today and every day

Author: ropheka

After faithfully serving the Lord in China for ten years as a teacher I have been called home to care for my aged mother who has numerous disabilities. As well I regularly do volunteer work visiting seniors in a seniors home. I love being in nature. I say the closer we get to nature the more we see Jehovah. We are blessed in this area with many amazing, easy to ride bicycle trails on old railroad lines that takes us all over Southern Ontario.

31 thoughts on “Like a Roaring Lion.

  1. An excellent post as always! We do need to “listen” to that voice, or heed that feeling inside us when we consider the offerings of this world. For God knows what is good for us and what isn’t…even if we can’t see it at first.

    Thanks for sharing this great reminder!

    TTL

    • It has kept me out of trouble when I listened and boy did it get me into trouble when I did not listen.

      • That’s one thing I have come to learn about you, my friend. You are “spot on” with many of your observations on life, both with and without the Lord.

        May those who are faithful be encouraged by your posts, and those who may not believe be moved to faith in Christ Jesus!

        TTL

      • Thank you ever so much beloved brother. I have had and still do have an exellent teacher (the Holy Spirit) even though many times I have been a very difficult student. My average is one for ten. When teaching in China one out of every ten students gave thier lives to Christ by the end of the semester. As well just as we need to be tutored in our Christian walk so too do we need to tutor the newbies. I am sure you are a great tutor.

      • I look at it this way…I do my best when I have an opportunity to study with someone about the Lord. I admit that I think about the number of people who respond, but in the end, that’s all up to the Father!

        We only share the gospel, as He has commanded us…

        Just keep on with sowing the seeds and leave the rest to God!

        TTL

      • That is what I am, a sower. It is difficult at times because I do not see the fruit of my labours but take comfort in knowing that the seed germinated that I was guided t plant.

      • That is the case with most all who spread the word of God. We may not see if even one soul responded, but we did our Godly work by living by His commands and sharing the gospel with others as we had the chance to.

        TTL

      • I have had the occasion to see someone I have brought to Christ be babtized because another lead them the rest of the way. At first I felt a tinge of jealousy but ultimatly felt joy for them.

      • Thank you for that honesty! Yes, I too have experienced the same kind of thing. It comes from the human emotions inside of us, and it can be quite natural to experience such feelings in many things.

        But the fact is, as you have said, the person wound up coming to the Lord. That is the main thing…

        You know, it’s the guy who scores the touchdown that gets the recognition, but the one who made the block to allow him to score is deserving of credit too.

        We work as a team, doing our parts to help bring a soul to salvation in Christ Jesus…

        TTL

      • Aw…a football fan? Good for you…

        TTL

      • Not really. I think too many people worship sports stars, movie stars and sings stars.

        I enjoy bicycling, hiking, camping and photography.

      • Good for you. Yes, people seem to worship many things…and sometimes they take the place of the God whom they should be following!

        All of the other things which you do like are super. Have a good weekend…

        TTL

      • I have seen too many depressed people who are depressed because they worship the God of materialisim instead of the Heavenly Fatrher who bring joy.

        Jehovah bless you with a weekend full of love and joy

      • No man can serve two masters…the Lord said that because He knows divided loyalties never work out in anything!

        God will never force us to accept His gifts, but when we look at the track record of God the Father vs. greed and deception of the world…there’s no contest in my mind!

        I’ll take the faith and heaven every time…

        TTL

      • Very insightful and true.

        It is difficult to step back and allow those you care about sink into Hell but we have no choice. They refuse the Word at their own peril.

        I noticed there is no place for me to comment on your articals.

      • Good day to you, my friend! Yes, to watch others refuse the gospel is heartbreaking, and especially so if they are family or close friends.

        But the Lord said He did not come to bring “peace, but a sword” (Matt. 10:34). He knew that people would not agree with us on the message of salvation, and some of them would probably be friends and family!

        We owe our first alliance to God. We do our best to bring our loved ones along, but they must decide to join the Lord by their own choice.

        As for the comments, the Elders decided they didn’t want the risk of “battling” over differing points of view regarding the scriptures.

        So for unity’s sake, we just express our points of view concerning the scriptures, and others can agree or disagree. But we do not want to have any part in a divisions concerning scripture…

        TTL

      • That is a wise descion.

      • I want to thank you for so much support! I am taking a bit of a break from this website for a while.

        Please enjoy your holiday season and the very best to you in the coming year!

        TTL

      • Enjoy your rest.

        Jehovahs love guide you on your journey

      • Thank you my friend! I thank you for the well wishes and support and I hope you and yours have a very special holiday time of refreshing and peace!

        God love and keep you…
        TTL

      • You are welcome and Thank you for the beautiful benidiction as well

      • My pleasure!

        TTL

  2. Yes! Thank you so much, for sharing this!

  3. Such wise words. Thank you for posting them Blessings on all your future blogs.

  4. Wonderful post. Thanks for following Godshotspot.wordpress.com God bless

Leave a Reply

