josephsdailywalkwithjesus

A closer walk with our beloved friend.

Seldom Do It

3 Comments


Image

Seldom set foot in your neighbor’s house, Lest he become weary of you and hate you. Proverbs 25: 17 New King James Version                                                                             

Have you ever had any acquaintances who call you at all hours of the day and come a knocking without calling first?                                                                                                   

When I was in China I refused to give any students my phone number or address for this exact reason. They would call at all hours of the day and night or just show up and it was almost impossible to get them to leave. They were there to get free English lessons. I ended up being so disgusted with them I could not even look at them, not that they cared.

On the other hand there were those who we talked once a week on the phone or went out for lunch. They were a treat and that was a day to look forward to all week.                        

Which one are you?                                                                                                                     

Prayer: Please Jehovah Heseh (God of love) teach me to have a heart of love and respect for others and to know how and when to give them their space. Just as Your son needed His time alone so do we all. I sincerely request this in the name of the most gracious friend I have Jesus Christ. Amen.                                                                                    

May the sunshine of Jesus’ sweet love bless you today and every day.   

Author: ropheka

After faithfully serving the Lord in China for ten years as a teacher I have been called home to care for my aged mother who has numerous disabilities. As well I regularly do volunteer work visiting seniors in a seniors home. I love being in nature. I say the closer we get to nature the more we see Jehovah. We are blessed in this area with many amazing, easy to ride bicycle trails on old railroad lines that takes us all over Southern Ontario.

3 thoughts on “Seldom Do It

  1. Hi. Thanks for visiting my blog. This was a great post and I appreciate your honesty. It’s not easy to admit when we’re less then Jesus-hearted with others. I’ve read this Proverb before but it never jumped out at me until now. I’m a bit reclusive and probably give people too much space – if there is such a thing, LOL! I’ve been in situations with neighbors and friends that think I’m on call 24-7. I like to help people but some people have no end or limitations to their needs. It can get oppressive and create resentment. We begin to duck and hide, pretend we’re not home, etc. When I dedicated my life to Christ, I knew a lot of things had to change and my behavior was a big one. Jesus didn’t act like that but He was selective on what He spent His time doing. I need to filter my life through the Holy Spirit to ensure I’m doing the things Jesus would have done by walking in obedience to who, where, and what God’s Will brings me to and do so joyfully!

    God bless you.

    Jennifer – I Give God All The Glory

    • Hell sister.

      Been there, done that.

      I do not know why but souls always come to me with their problems and it used to wear me right down. Jehovah has taught me to put limits on my help and how to filter out those that are just trying to get you to do work they should be doing but are too lazy to and the ones that just are abusers (taking advantage of others is abusive behaviour).

      Jehovah bless you with wisdom, grace and meekness to know when and how to set limits.

Leave a Reply

